Jose Gonzalez - Veneer + Stay in the shade (EP)


1) slow moves
2) remain
3) lovestain
4) heartbeats
5) crosses
6) deadwaight on velveteen
7) all you deliver
8) stay in the shade
9) hints
10) save your day
11) broken arrows

Don't let the name fool you; singer/songwriter José González is a Swedish-born and -raised son of Argentine parents. His debut album, Veneer, is a striking collection of hushed and autumnal indie pop bedroom songs that reside on the hi-fi end of the lo-fi spectrum. González is definitely a member of the "quiet is the new loud" school as founded by Elliott Smith and the Kings of Convenience. Veneer is about as intimate as they come; it sounds like he is sitting right on the end of your bed singing just for you. At times, González is a little more forceful than most of his schoolmates, often working himself into a tightly spinning ball of emotion (as on the driving "Lovestain" and the bluesy "Hints"). At these moments his voice is reminiscent of Mark Kozelek, only without the wild flights of pretension. Mostly though, he is content to cruise along on mellow vocals double-tracked behind gently plucked and strummed acoustic guitars. The beautiful "Heartbeats," "Deadweight on Velveteen," and the gently rollicking "Stay in the Shade" are the high watermarks of a remarkably focused and promising debut. González is a welcome addition to the q-school of indie pop. (all music review)

Stay in the shade (EP)

1) hand on your heart
2) down the hillside
3) sensing owls
4) instr.

The EP features an extended version of "Stay In The Shade"; two amazing album-worthy b-sides, "Sensing Owls" and "Down The Hillside"; José's cover of the Kylie Minogue hit "Hand On Your Heart"; and an instrumental track (for all those John Fahey fans out there).


Enviado por Juan

3 comentarios:

Nicolás Igarzábal dijo...

nick drake no se había muerto en los 70???

Mauro dijo...

zarpa jose gonzales

Paula dijo...

el chango ese es lo más.
uno de sus temas (Heartbeats) es la música de un excelente comercial de Bravia, de Sony.